PG, M.Phil seats increased in 3 Autonomous Colleges in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: New courses in Post Graduate and M.Phil will be introduced in three colleges across the State along with an increase in number of seats of various departments in these institutions. Odisha Assembly Standing Committee granted approval to the courses and seat increase in the colleges during a meeting on Monday.

The new courses and seat hikes have been approved for three of the oldest institutions of the state, Vikram Deb Autonomous College (oldest in the state established before Independence) in Jeypore, Government Autonomous College in Rourkela and Samanta Chandra Sekhara (SCS) Autonomous College in Puri.

The meeting also discussed on developing infrastructure of the state varsities and streamlining the teaching and non-teaching faculty in all colleges.

“Along with the introduction of new PG courses in Vikram Deb College, the number of seats in Odia, English and Sociology departments at post-graduate level has been increased to 32, while number of seats in Physics and Zoology has been increased to 16,” informed Tara Prasad Bahinipati, Congress chief whip and member of Standing Committee.

Also Read : UGC NET exam 2017: CBSE releases notification

In Rourkela Government College, the departments which will start M.Phil course from the ensuing academic session are Odia, English and Botany with 8 seats approved for each of the three departments.

Similarly, in SCS College, the number of PG seats in Economics, Education and Chemistry department has been increased to 16, while introduction of Odia, English and History departments at M-Phil level has been approved with 8 seats each.