Panchayat polls: Naveen appoints observers

Bhubaneswar: As part of its strategy for the panchayat elections in Odisha scheduled early next year, chief minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik today appointed special observers and district level observers to monitor and supervise preparations for the polls.

For overall monitoring of the party organization for the ensuing polls, Patnaik has appointed four senior leaders as state level special observers. They are Damodar Rout, Bed Prakash Agrawal, Prasanna Patsani and Sarojini Hembram.

For district level monitoring, Surya Nayaran Patra has been given charge as observer for the undivided Sambalpur and Bolangir districts, Prasanna Acharya for undivided Cuttack district, Bhupinder Singh for undivided Koraput district, AU Singhdeo for undivided Balasore district, Prasanta Nanda for Sundargarh district, Sura Nayak for Mayurbhanj and Bimbadhar Kuanr for Kalanahdi district.