Naveen attends CMs’ meet over reshaping plan panel

New Delhi: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik along with other state CMs today joined the meeting convened by Prime Minister Narendra Modi for discussion on restructuring of Planning Commission.

Only CMs of Jammu and Kashmir and West Bengal skipped the meeting. West Bengal Finance Minister Amit Mitra is representing his State.

Three months after PM Modi announced about reshaping the planning commission on Independence Day, the process has been started today. As per the latest report, the name of the commission is likely to be replaced as Policy commission or National Development Reforms Commission.

However, the panel would work closely with the State and not consider them as only member state of the body.

Four departments would dominate the panel like Inter-state council, Planning evaluation office, Unique Identification Authority and Direct Benefit Transfer.

Planning Secretary Sindhushree Khullar, in her presentation before the delegates, said that the new institution may have 8-10 regulars or executive members with half of them representing the states.

She suggested that the remaining members could be sectoral experts — environmentalists, financial experts, engineers, scientists and eminent scholars from different fields.

The new body may be headed by the Prime Minister as the chairperson position would be ex-officio.