Leaders asked to vacate govt quarters: CM

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Monday informed the State Assembly that three former ministers and six former MLAs have not vacated government quarters while several leaders including the Deputy Speaker, Leader of the Opposition, government Chief Whip and four ministers have occupied more than one government quarters.

The state government has written letters to these leaders to immediately vacate the extra government quarters, Patnaik said.

Referring to the expenditure made towards the repair of government quarters allotted to the MLAs, the chief minister said the government has spend to repair the quarters of Jogendra Behera, Rs 11.12 lakh for repair of quarters of Narasingh Mishra, Rs 7.91 for Pradip Panigrahi, and Rs 6.98 lakh for Ashok Panda’s quarters.

Apart from this, Rs 1.83 lakh has been spent towards the purchase of office stationary for the chief minister’s office (CMO), he added.