Hirakhand Express derailment: 7 trains cancelled, 10 Express trains diverted

Jeypore:  Following the derailment of 10 coaches of Jagdalpur-Bhubaneswar Express in Vizianagaram district of Andhra Pradesh last night in which at least 32 passengers were killed and over 60 passengers injured, the Railways today cancelled seven trains and diverted the routes of 10 express trains.

The seven trains that have been cancelled today by the Railways are 58528 Visakhapatnam-Raipur Passenger, 58503 Rayagada-Visakhapatnam Passenger, 58538 Visakhapatnam-Koraput Passenger, 18309 Sambalpur-Nanded Express, Visakhapatnam-Koraput Passenger, 18448/18438 Jagdalpur-Jungarh Road-Bhubaneswar Hirakhand Express and 18518 Visakhapatnam-Korba Express.

Besides, ten Express trains would be diverted through other routes.

The 13351 Dhanbad-Allepy Express and 18637 Hatia-Yesvantpur Express will be diverted via Titilagarh-Raipur-Nagpur-Ballarsah while 12843 Puri-Ahmedabad Express and 12375 Chennai-Asansol Express will be diverted via Visakhapatnam-Vijayawada-Nagpur-Ahmedabad and Khurda-Angul-Jharsuguda respectively.

Also read: No involvement of Maoists in train derailment: DGP

Similarly, 12807 Visakhapatnam-Hazrat Nizamuddin Express and 22847 Visakhapatnam-Lokmanya Tilak Terminus (LTT) Express will be diverted via Duvvada-Vijayawada-Nagpur and Duvvada-Vijayawada-Ballarsah-Nagpur respectively while 18310 Nanded-Sambalpur Express and 12808 Hazrat Nizamuddin-Visakhapatnam Express would be diverted via Khurda Road-Angul and Nagpur-Vijayawada-Duvvada respectively.

Besides, 13352 Aleppy-Dhanbad Express and 12844 Ahmedabad-Puri Express would be diverted via Vizianagarm-Palasa-Angul-Sambalpur and Titilagarh-Sambalpur-Angul-Khurda Road-Puri respectively.

Apart from this, the Railways have short terminated seven trains.

As the release by the Railways, 57271 Vijayawada-Rayagada Passenger will run as 57272 from Visakhapatnam to Vijayawada, 58530 Visakhapatnam-Durg Passenger will run up to Donkinvalasa, 58529 Durg-Visakhapatnam Passenger will run as 58530 from Titlagarh to Durg, 18517 Korba-Visakhapatnam Express will run up to Rayagada, 58537 Koraput-Visakhapatnam Passenger will run as 58538 from Rayagada to Koraput, 18447/18437 Bhubaneswar-Jagadapur-Jungarh Road Express will run up to Vizianagram and 58527 Raipur-Visakhapatnam Passenger will run up to Titlagarh.

This apart, one Passenger Special with stranded passenger of the ill-fated 18448 Jagdalpur-Jungarah Road-Bhubaneswar Hirakhand Express with 13 coaches has run from Kuneru to Bhubaneswar via Rayagada-Titilagarh-Sambalpur-Angul.

Also read: Nearly 100 NDRF personnel rush to train derailment site

The Railway authorities have also provided 13 buses for the relief of stranded passengers to carry them to various short distance places like Berhampur, Bhawanipatna, etc, the release added.

Till reports last came in, senior Railway officials including General Manager, East Coast Railway (ECoR) Umesh Singh and Divisional Railway Manager (DRM), Waltair Division, Chandralekha Mukherjee are camping at the site to monitor the relief and rescue operations.

Besides, Railway minister Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu and Chairman, Railway Board AK Mital along with other high officials of the Railway Board have arrived at the mishap site.