Four Union ministers to attend ‘Yaad Karo Kurbani’ programme in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Four Union ministers will visit Odisha on August 17 and 20 to attend the ‘Yaad Karo Kurbani’ programme to mark the 70th Independence Day.

Briefing media persons here today, BJP state vice president Samir Mohanty said the four ministers would visit the native place of four prominent freedom fighters of Odisha to pay tributes to the supreme sacrifice they had made to free India from the British rule.

He said as per the schedule, Union Tribal Affairs minister Jual Oram will visit the birthplace of Veer Surendra Sai at Khinda village of Rengali block in Sambalpur district while CR Chaudhary, Union minister for Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution, will visit the birthplace of Baji Rout at Nilakanthapur village of Bhuban block in Dhenkanal district on August 17.

Union Telecommunications Minister Manoj Sinha will visit Harachandi Sahi, the birthplace of Chakhi Khuntia in Puri town and Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Union Minister of State for Skill Development and Entrepreneurship (Independent) will visit Janakinath Bhawan, the birthplace of Subhash Chandra Bose, at Odia Bazar in Cuttack city on August 20, Mohanty said.