Election to Panchayat Samiti Chairman post to be held in Odisha today

Bhubaneswar: The election to the post of panchayat samiti chairman will be held today across Odisha today.

Barring seven panchayat samitis, notably Chitrakonda block of Malkangiri district, Bhabanipatna of Kalahandi distcrit, Rengali of Sambalpur, Parjang of Dhenkanal, Kolabira and Laikera of Jahrsuguda, Belapada of Bolangir district elections will be held at 307 blocks across the state.

Election is not being held at Chitrakonda block due to security concerns amid terror threats from left wing extremists. Similarly, cases pending in High Court has led to cancellation of elections at rest six blocks.

Nomination filling will be held from 10 to 11 am while inspection of the applications will be completed by 12.30 pm. Applicants can withdraw their candidature within 1 pm. Elections will be held between 1 to 4 pm at places where multiple candidates file their nomination.

Local BDOs and other OAS officers will be present on the spot to oversee the polling process.

Election to Zilla Parishad Chairman post will be held tomorrow across Odisha.