BJD sweeps urban local bodies election in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The ruling BJD today swept election in eight urban local bodies – three municipalities and five notified areas where polling was held yesterday.

In all the eight civic bodies, BJD has been able to secure majority, state election commission sources said.

The BJD has won absolute majority at Daspalla, Dharmagarh, Balimela, Tusra, and Redhakhol Notified Area Councils (NAC) and three municipalities in Paradip, Belpahar and Sunabeda.

Opposition Congress and BJP secured 11 and 12 wards respectively out of total 129 wards spread over the eight urban local bodies. The BJD candidates won in 103 wards while Independents bagged three.

While Congress candidates failed to open account in three urban bodies like Daspalla, Tusara and Rairakhole, no BJP candidate won in Dharmagarh notified area council, the sources said.

“I express my gratitude to the people in eight ULBs and thank BJD workers and leaders for the victory,” said BJD President and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

OPCC President Prasad Harichandan thanked the voters in all the eight civic bodies and accepted defeat. “We are identifying the weakness in the party,” he said, adding that the party targets the next panchayat polls in 2017.

BJP state President K V Singhdeo, however, blamed the party’s failure on the money power of BJD behind its victory.

“I have never seen any party using choppers during campaigning in urban polls. The BJD has done this,” Singhdeo said.

After declaration of the election results, BJD workers were seen distributing sweets and smearing colour on each other besides congratulating the winning candidates.