Biennial RS polls for 57 seats on June 11; 3 from Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission (EC) will hold elections to 57 Rajya Sabha seats from 14 states, including Odisha, on June 11.

The 14 states which will elect 57 members of Parliament to the Upper House in this biennial exercise are Odisha, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Punjab, Jharkhand, Haryana and Uttarakhand.

In Odisha, election will be held for three seats that will fall vacant at the end of the tenure of Pyarimohan Mahapatra, Baishnab Parida and Bhupinder Singh on July 1.

As per the schedule finalised by a full bench of the Commission on May 10, notification for Rajya Sabha elections will be issued on May 25. While June 1 is the last date for filing nominations, scrutiny of nominations will be the next day and withdrawal of nominations on June 4.

Polling will be held on June 11 from 9 am to 4 pm while counting and the declaration of results will be done the same day from 5 pm, sources in the Commission said.