7 new govt medical colleges to come up in Odisha

Berhampur: Seven new government medical colleges would be set up in Odisha to tide over shortage of doctors in the state, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik said here today.

The new medical colleges would be established at Koraput, Mayurbhanj, Puri, Bolangir, Balasore, Kalahandi and Keonjhar, Patnaik said while addressing the annual conference of Odisha Medical Services Association.

While admission in the new medical colleges at Koraput and Mayurbhanj would be made this year, effort was on to admit students in other colleges next year, he said.

As many as 837 new doctors were expected to be recruited in the state soon through Odisha Public Service Commission, said the chief minister.

In addition to the seven medical colleges, Health Minister Pradeep Kumar Amat said, two hospitals were expected to be set up by central PSUs.

“We hope the shortage of doctors in the state will be met when all these colleges start functioning,” Amat said.