4 Odias in Indian Women’s hockey team for Rio

Bhubaneswar: In a development that would cockle the hearts of sports lovers of the state, four Odia girls found place in the Indian Women’s hockey team for Rio Olympics which was declared today.

According to reports, Deep Grace Ekka, Namita Toppo, Lilima Minz and Sunita Lakra from Odisha will represent the national team in the Olympics which will be played in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil from August 5 to 21.

It will be a debut for all four Odia girl in Olympics, sources said.

Meanwhile, Sudam Marandi announced Rs 50,000 incentives each for the four Odia players for finding a place in the National team for Rio Olympics.

Women’s squad: Savita (GK), Navjot Kaur (midfielder), Deep Grace Ekka (defender), Namita Toppo (defender), Sunita Lakra (defender), Monika (midfielder), Anuradha Devi (forward), Poonam Rani (forward), Vandana Kataria (forward), Deepika (defender), Renuka Yadav (midfielder), Sushila Chanu (defender), Rani Rampal (forward), Preeti Dubey (forward), Lilima Minz (midfielder), Nikki Pradhan (forward).

The women’s team is in Group B with Argentina, Australia, Great Britain, Japan and United States