BK Patnaik to be OSSC chairman

Bhubaneswar: Chief secretary Bijay Kumar Patnaik is all set to become the next chairman of the Odisha Staff Selection Commission (OSSC). Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has recommended his name for the prestigious post, sources said.

A 1976 batch IAS officer, Patnaik is most likely to take the new charge in first week of July after his retirement from the post of Chief Secretary. He will superannuate on June 30, official sources said. However, final notification in this regard will be published after Governor's approval.

Notably, the post of SSC chairman has been lying vacant for quite sometime after Suresh Chandra Mohanty, former PCCF, retired.