BJP fields Jay Panda from Kendrapara, Aparajita gets Bhubaneswar; Oram stays in Sundergarh

Bhubaneswar: Putting all speculations to rest, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today announced candidates for 184 Lok Sabha seats including 10 from Odisha. The saffron party has fielded its national vice-president, Baijayant ‘Jay’ Panda from Kendrapara while Aparajita Sarangi will contest from Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha constituency.

As per the first list of candidates announced today, union minister Jual Oram will contest from Sundergarh again. Rudra Narayan Pani will contest from Dhenkanal, Anita Subhadarshini from Aska, Balabhadra Majhi from Nabarangpur, Bhrugu Baxipatra from Berhampur, Pratap Sarangi from Balasore, Sangeeta Kumari Singh Deo from Bolangir and Anant Nayak from Keonjhar Lok Sabha seat.

“I am committed for the Swabhiman and development of Kendrapara and Odisha,” said Panda after BJP nominated him as candidate for Kendrapara Lok Sabha seat.

The party has tactfully picked its candidates for the crucial polls in Odisha which has remained on its radar since long. Senior BJP leaders including PM Modi, Amit Shah and Rajnath Singh had visited the State to galvanise party organisation where it is eyeing to come to power by dethroning the CM Naveen-led BJD.

The Lok Sabha and Assembly polls will be held simultaneously in the state in four phases beginning April 11.

BJP’s Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha candidate, Aparajita Sarangi said, “People of Odisha now want change and  I want to make Bhubaneswar as the best constituency in the country.”