BJD sweeps State urban body polls

Bhubaneswar: The ruling BJD today swept the urban elections in Odisha by winning 44 of 66 Urban Local Bodies (ULBs) while opposition Congress captured 12 and BJP had to rest with only one, official sources said.
BJD also won majority in Berhampur Municipal Corporation (BMC) with its candidates securing 24 of the 40 wards. BMC was the lone corporation where elections were held yesterday along with 25 municipalities and 40 notified area councils (NACs).
While results for 63 ULBs have already been declared, the process of counting of votes was still on in three civic bodies, a State Election Commission (SEC) official said.
Counting of votes at Vyasanagar Municipality in Jajpur district would be held tomorrow due to re-polling in two wards today.
Independent candidates captured 10 of the 13 wards at Kodala NAC in Ganjam district while none filed nomination in one ward. The ruling BJD candidates could manage to win in only two wards while all the Congress candidates lost the polls.
Similar was the situation at 12-member Udala NAC in Mayurbhanj district where Independent candidates won in 6 wards followed by Congress winning in 4 wards and two wards were bagged by the ruling BJD candidates.
No single political party could get majority in Soro NAC in Balasore district and Koraput NAC, while in Joda municipality in Keonjhar it was a tie as BJD and Congress secured seven seats each.
In Jatni municipality in Khurda district, independents were ahead by securing 11 of the 23 wards, followed by BJD (8) and Congress (4).
Similarly, in Kotpad NAC in Koraput district it was a hung body with Congress winning 6 of 13 wards followed by BJD with 5 and independents 2.
Of the total 1147 wards spread over 27 districts, BJD candidates won in 613 places followed by Congress candidates in 296 wards, 45 by BJP candidates, 10 by others while 99 wards went in favour of Independent candidates.
Opposition Congress could get clear majority in Jagatsinghpur, Jaleswar, Nayagada, Polasara, Buguda, Basudevpur, Pipili, Parlakhemundi, Angul, Dhenkanal, Badbil and Athamalick.
BJP candidates got clear majority in Rairangpur NAC by bagging seven of the 15 seats while Congress candidates won in 4 wards and BJD candidates won in 3 wards.
BJD made a clean sweep in Jajpur municipality, Chikiti and Purusottampur NACs in Ganjam district as it won all 18, 12 and 14 wards, respectively.