BJD sweeps 26 districts in ZP elections

Bhubaneswar: The ruling Biju Janata Dal has claimed 624 Zilla Parishad Zones and has registered complete majority in 26 revenue districts results of which were announced today by the State Election Commission(SEC). The Congress with just 124 Zilla Parishad Zones in its kitty stood at a poor second while the Bharatiya Janata Party was completely wiped out with just 36 Zilla Parisha Zones. The Congress registered majority in three districts while in Gajapati no party could get the majority. Elections could not be held in three zones under Kashipur block.  

Elections were held for 851 Zilla Parishad Zones out of a total of 854 Zilla Parishad Zones. The SEC today announced results of 818 zones while the results of 33 zones in Puri district were withheld. The CPI and CPI(M) candidates registered victories in two and one Zilla Parisha Zones while the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha(JMM) bagged 11 Zilla Parishad Zones. The Independents could taste success in 20 Zilla Parishad Zones. The complete rout of the saffron party was the most startling revelation of the election results.

The BJD has claimed majority in Puri, Nayagarh, Khurda, Ganjam, Cuttack, Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur, Balasore, Bhadrak, Mayurbhanj, Angul, Dhenkanal, Keonjhar, Sundergarh, Sambalpur, Bargarh, Deogarh, Nuapara, Kalahandi, Bolangir, Suvarnapur, Nawarangpur, Rayagada, Malkangiri and Boudh. The Congress has claimed majority in Jharsuguda, Kondhmal and Koraput while the BJP could not claim a single district.

The elections for Zilla Parishad Presidents would be held on March 13.