BJD fields Sarojini Hembram as candidate from Baripada Assembly seat

Bhubaneswar: BJD president and chief minister Naveen Patnaik today nominated senior party leader and Rajya Sabha member Sarojini Hembram from the Baripada Assembly constituency in Mayurbhanj district.

Soon after the announcement, Hembram said, “I am ready to join the poll battle as a lot of developmental works have been carried out in the constituency and people of Mayurbhanj district have faith in our party. The CM is popular and people of Odisha have faith on him. If elected, I will work to resolve the problems of the people of the constituency.”

Currently a Rajya Sabha member, Hembram had successfully contested the 2009 assembly polls from Bangriposi Assembly constituency on BJD ticket. She was Bangiriposi MLA from 2009 to 2014 and held the portfolio of the Handloom and Textiles department as minister in Naveen cabinet from 2012 to 2014.

Hembram stayed away from 2014 polls after BJD fielded Sudam Marandi, who had joined the party after quitting JMM. Later she was elected to the Rajya Sabha.