BJD effects minor reshuffle in party organisation

Bhubaneswar: Barely two days after expelling senior leader and former minister Damodar Rout from BJD, party supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today effected a few changes in the party’s organisational posts.

Through a press release, party general secretary Prashant Nanda informed that Balikuda-Ersama MLA Prasanta Muduli has been appointed as the BJD Working President of Jagatsinghpur district. Muduli is also the chairman of Jagatsinghpur district planning committee.

Worth mentioning, Muduli was the one among the few party members from Jagatsinghpur who had met Naveen demanding disciplinary action against Dama Rout.

On the other hand, BJD Rajya Sabha MP Soumya Ranjan Patnaik has been appointed as the senior observer for undivided Koraput district, while Steel & Mines Minister Prafulla Kumar Mallick has been given the charge of party’s president in Dhenkanal district.

Commerce and Transport Minister, Nrusingha Charan Sahoo has been made party’s general secretary, the notification read.

Similarly, Tourism and Culture Minister Ashok Chandra Panda has been given the charge of the district president of BJD organisational district in Bhubaneswar.

Meanwhile, Health & Family Welfare Minister Pratap Jena, who is currently the party district observer of Angul, has been given additional charges of co-observer of Jagatsinghpur district while Bijay Kumar Nayak will be the co-observer of Dhenkanal district.