We Report, You Decide

BJD candidates win Ganjam, Koraput Zilla Parishad seats unopposed

Berhampur/ Koraput: BJD candidates Sonam Palei and Tulasi Kirsani were elected unopposed as chairpersons of Ganjam and Koraput Zilla Parishad seats respectively on Tuesday.

Polling officer Laxmikant Sethi informed that Palei won unopposed as she was the only candidate to file the nomination papers today.

“While the filing of the nomination paper for the Zilla Parishad was held between 10 AM and 11 AM, only one candidate – Sonam Palei – from zone number 11 had filed her nomination. She was elected unopposed after the time period for scrutiny and withdrawal ended,” Sethi informed while speaking to media persons.

- Advertisement -

By-election to the Ganjam Zilla Parishad seat was initiated as the seat fell vacant after its former chairperson Subash Behera was elected MLA of Chatrapur Assembly Constituency.

After her selection, Palei thanked party president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and other leaders for reposing faith on her. “I thank honourable CM Naveen Patnaik and other party leaders as I won the Ganjam Zilla Parishad seat because of their blessings. I will work in coordination with everyone for the development of the Zilla Parishad,” she said.

Similarly, Tulasi Kirsani was also elected unopposed as chairperson of Koraput Zilla Parishad today. The seat had fallen vacant after its chairperson Prabhu Jani was elected as the MLA of Laxmipur constituency in the recently concluded Assembly election.

Comments are closed.