BJD announces two candidates for RS polls

Bhubaneswar: The Biju Janata Dal today announced the list of its candidates for the ensuing Rajya Sabha elections. The party announced the names of two candidates while elections would be held for sending three new members to the Upper House in the Parliament. The two candidates are former International hockey wizard Dillip Tirkey and Rabi Narayan Mohapatra who is the President of the Nayagarh district unit of the BJD.

The BJD President and Chief Minister making the announcement today said that the party was not in favour of putting up candidate for the third seat as it lacked the numbers in the assembly for the victory of the third candidate and it was also not sure of getting the support of NCP, CPI and Independent members.