Biju Patnaik among eleven cultural icons

Bhubaneswar: Former Odisha chief minister Biju Patnaik has been named as one of the eleven cultural icons who will be commemorated by the Narendra Modi government in 2015-16. Patnaik will be felicitated on his birth anniversary next year.

As a part of the initiative, a postage stamp and commemorative coins will be issued. A high-powered committee has been set up by the prime minister’s Office in this regard.

The committee is being led by Union Home minister Rajnath Singh and will include Union ministers Arun Jaitely, Smriti Irani and Mahesh Sharma as its members.

Prominent icons which will be commemorated this year include Hindi writer Bhisham Sahni, freedom fighter Lala Lajpat Rai and Rajput ruler Maharana Pratap while Biju Patnaik and Jana Sangh leader Deendayal Upadhyay will be commemorated in 2016.