Bijepur Bypoll: BJD reposes faith in Rita Sahu

Bhubaneswar: The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) today announced Rita Sahu as the party candidate for the high-voltage Bijepur bypoll which is scheduled to be held on October 21.

Bijepur Assembly constituency, which will be going to polls next month for the third time in just over a year, has become a battle of prestige with parties going all-out to win the seat.

“Rita Sahu will be the BJD candidate for Bijepur bypoll. I am indebted to the people of Bijepur for the blessings they have showered on me. Bijepur would continue to be a focus area for welfare and development,” says BJD president and Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik.

While the Congress has named Dilip Kumar Panda as the party’s candidates for the assembly bypoll, the BJP is yet to announce its candidate.

While the the last date for filing of nomination for the bypoll is September 30, counting of votes will be held on October 24, 2019.

Earlier, Rita Sahu had completely decimated the BJP and the Congress by winning the Bijepur by-election by 41,993 votes in 2018 (the bypoll that was then necessitated then following the untimely demise of his husband and incumbent Bijepur MLA Subal Sahu).

Later, during the 2019 general elections, the BJD supremo himself contested form the seat and registered a won with thumping majority. But the bypoll for Bijepur Assembly seat was again necessitated after CM Naveen vacated the seat while retaining the Hinjili seat.