Bansadhara Tribunal directs Odisha, Andhra Pradesh to set joint technical committee

Bhubaneswar: The Bansadhara Tribunal today directed Odisha and Andhra Pradesh governments to set up a joint technical committee comprising engineers from both the States. Official sources said that the directions were issued by the Tribunal after hearing an application filed by Odisha and the Central Government under section 5(3) of Inter-State Water Disputes Act.

The technical committee members have been asked to conduct a meeting on January 28 to narrow down any differences on Katragadda and Nereddy barrages and submit a joint report within a week. Earlier, both Odisha and the Centre had raised objections after the Tribunal gave its nod for construction of both the barrages.

The special team of the Tribunal appointed by the Supreme Court on Bansadhara water dispute between Odisha and Andhra Pradesh had conducted a field inspection at Sara village under Kashipur block in Gajapati district of Odisha in December last year.

The team led by Justice Mukundam Sharma, who is also the Chairman of the tribunal, along with other members had visited the site. Earlier, a team comprising Chief engineer of Water Resources department of Odisha, Akshay Banerjee and others had also visited the site of Katragadda phase – II project in Andhra Pradesh.