Assault on Girls: OHRC directs 3 police officials to depose on July 10

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Human Rights Commission today directed the former Nayapalli IIC and the two women police officials to depose before it in connection with a viral video that featured two girls assaulted by the cops.

As per sources, the OHRC has asked the three police officials to depose before it on July 10.

Earlier, Police Commissioner YB Khurania had stated that the allegation levelled by the two girls would be probed by the HRPC Additional DCP and stringent action would be taken against the three officials if they are found guilty.

Later, the Commission in its report to the HRPC stated that Nayapalli police station Inspector-in-Charge Sangram Pattnaik and two women sub-inspectors of the station in a state of grudge assaulted the two girls of Behera Sahi here over a property dispute.

A video of the incident had also gone viral on the social media.

A day after the two girls alleged that they were severely thrashed at the police station, the three officials were transferred and Umakant Pradhan, the additional IIC of Capital Police Station, was given charge of Nayapalli police station.