AICC announces manifesto committee of Odisha; Srikant Jena replaced

Bhubaneswar: The All India Congress Committee (AICC) president, Rahul Gandhi today approved the manifesto committee for Odisha for the 2019 elections. Senior leader Srikant Jena who was the chairperson of the committee from April 2018 has been replaced by Ganeswar Behera, the official release stated.

According to the release, Ganeswar Behera will head the ten-member team which includes Narasingha Mishra, Prasad Harichandan, Sudarshan Das, Shyam Sundar Hansdah, Mary Surin, Natabar Khuntia, Liaquat Ali, Satya Prakash Nayak and Bismaya Mahapatra.

“I had specifically mentioned that the party’s chief minister candidate will be from scheduled caste or other backward classes. If the party will be led by people involved in mining scam, then Rahul Gandhi will face the repercussions,” said Srikant Jena.

Ganeswar Behera said “I am thankful for the responsibility given by the Congress leadership. We will take steps to restore the old glory of Congress in the state.”

Meanwhile, Odisha Congress chief Niranjan Patnaik said that the manifesto committee has been finalised by the AICC and the State unit has no role in it.