79 out of 112 BJD MLAs are Crorepatis: ADR Report

Bhubaneswar: Of the 146 newly-elected Odisha Assembly members, 95 legislators are Crorepatis with highest 79 MLAs belonging to the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and CM Naveen being the richest among them, as per the Odisha Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) report.

According to the report, 79 (72%) out of 112 MLAs from BJD, 9 (39%) out of 23 MLAs from BJP and 7 Congress MLAs have declared assets valued to be more than Rs 1 crore.

BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik is the richest among BJD legislators having assets worth Rs 63 crore. BJD MLA from Jharsuguda Naba Kishore Das is second with total assets worth Rs 33 crore while Patnagarh MLA Saroj Meher ranks third with Rs 31 crore.

Makarand Muduli, Independent candidate from Rayagada Assembly segment, is the poorest among all elected MLAs with his total assets valued at Rs 15,000.

Similarly, Congress MLA from Barabati-Cuttack, Mohammad Moquim has highest annual income of Rs 4 crore, followed by BJD’s Naba Kishore Das and Sudhir Samal with Rs 1 crore income each.