6 conferred ‘Prabasi Odia Samman’ in New Delhi

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Forum in New Delhi conferred six Odisha personalities with the ‘Prabasi Odia Samman’ on Friday.

Non-resident Odias- Kenyan Parliamentarian Swarup Ranjan Mishra, space entrepreneur and designer Sasmita Mohanty, actor Nandita Das, international Odissi exponent Sharon Lowen, doctor-scientist Pinaki Panigrahi and agricultural scientist Trilochan Mohapatrareceived the awardsduring a special function held at the PHD Chamber of Commerce and Industry, New Delhi.

“I am grateful to Odisha Forum for organising such an event for the people of Odisha, who have earned name and fame for their outstanding contribution in their respective fields,” said Chief Justice of India, Dipak Misra who was the chief guest of the event.

Former bureaucrat Sitakanta Mohapatra and Justice JV Patnaik were among other dignitaries who attended the award function. The programme was held under the chairmanship of Odisha Forum’s President, Gokul Patnaik.