4 lionhearts from Odisha to receive ICCW National Bravery Awards 2018

New Delhi/Bhubaneswar: It certainly will be a proud moment for Odisha this Republic Day when four children from the State- 2 girls and 2 boys, would be receiving the ICCW National Bravery Awards 2018 in New Delhi. Reportedly, 21 children- 8 girls and 13 boys from 12 different States have been selected for the bravery award.

The National Bravery Award Scheme was initiated by the Indian Council for Child Welfare in 1957 to give due recognition to the children who distinguish themselves by performing outstanding deeds of bravery and meritorious service and to inspire other children to emulate their example.

The four bravehearts- Jhili Bagh, Ranjita Majhi, Biswajit Puhan and Situ Mallick will be felicitated with the ICCW National Bravery Award on this Republic Day, while Situ Mallick, who displayed outstanding bravery and boldness in saving his uncle Binod Malik from the jaws of a crocodile, will be conferred with the prestigious Bapu Gaidhani Award.

Others receiving the Bapu Gaidhani Award are Anika Jaimini of Rajasthan and Camelia Kathy Kharbyngar of Megalaya. The Sanjay Chopra Award has been given to Gohil Jayrajsinh who saved his friend from a leopard’s attack.

Anika Jaimini fearlessly confronted her kidnapper and foiled the kidnapping attempt with her dauntless courage. Camelia Kathy Kharbyngar saved her 17-year-old mentally retarded brother who was unable to help himself out from a raging fire at her house.

The coveted Bharat Award has been conferred on two children for separate acts of valour. Gurugu Hima Priya and Soumyadip Jana both from Jammu, bravely confronted heavily armed terrorists. The prestigious Geeta Chopra Award has been conferred on Late Nitisha Negi of Delhi who sacrificed her life in an attempt to save her friend from drowning in a sea. 

The other recipients are Shrikant Gangeer, Ritik Sahu & Thagendra Sahu (Chhattisgarh), Muskan & Seema (Himachal Pradesh), C.D. Krishna Nalk (Karnataka), Shigil K and Ashwin SaJeev (Kerala), Wahenybam Larringanba Singh (Manipur), Mandeep Kumar Pathak (New Delhi), Jhill Bagh, and Kunwar Divyansh Singh (Uttar Pradesh).

The ICON National Bravery Awards is a fitting recognition and appreciation of noble traits in the children to inspire and steer them in the right direction.

As per sources, eligible awardees would be granted financial assistance until they complete their schooling through donations from philanthropists. In addition, ICCW will provide financial assistance under its Sponsorship Scheme to those undertaking professional courses such as engineering and medicine. For others, this assistance is provided till they complete their graduation.