4 candidates file nominations for CMC by-poll

Cuttack: The process for by-poll in Ward no-21 of the Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC) began today with the filing of nomination papers by four candidates.

Reports said the Congress candidate Gouri Das filed her nominations after which BJP candidate Padmini Behera, BJD candidate Tulasi Behera and Independent candidate Bharati Behera filed their nominations at the office of the Additional District Magistrate (ADM).

Talking to media persons, ADM and Electoral Officer Laxmidhar Mohanty said four candidates are in the fray after the close of nomination today.

Verification of nominations and the list of candidates will be announced on May 20 while the candidates will be allowed to withdraw their nominations till May 23.

“There are six booths in Ward no-21 where the election would be held through Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs). We have made a list of polling personnel who would be given training on handling EVMs. Besides we will have a disbursal centre at Raja Bagicha High School. The polling party would be disbursed from the centre to their respective booth on June 2 a day before the election,” Mohanty informed.