27 new faces in BJD executive committee

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, after being declared by the BJD election officer Pravat Tripathy to hold steering of the ruling party for fifth consecutive time, on Monday announced names of the 81-member new party executive committee which found 27 new faces.

While MLA Kalindi Behera, ministers Kalpataru Das, Raghunath Mohanty and Surya Narayan Patro were appointed as vice-presidents (VP), Naveen wanted to retain five of the previous faces; Anang Uday Singh Deo, Dr. Damodar Raut, Prafulla Ghadei, minister Prasanna Acharya and MP Dr. Prasanna Patasani.

Meanwhile, minister Lal Bihari Himirika has been appointed as treasurer of the party.

The ministers who have been chosen by the BJD supremo to act as general secretaries the committee include energy minister Arun Sahu, higher education minister Badri Narayan Patra, agriculture minister Debi Prasad Mishra, school and mass education minister Rabi Narayan Nanda and Textile minister from Mayurbhanj Sarojini Hembram.

As many as 10 general secretaries and same number of secretaries will act as office bearers, an official statement said.

The newly constituted committee also saw some new faces such as Debi Prasad Mishra, Dharmananda Behera, Bhagirathi Badjena, and MPs Tathagat Satapathy and Dillip Tirkey as office bearers.

More importantly, the May 29 failed coup bid incident, hatched by dissident MP Pyarimohan Mohapatra to topple the Naveen Patnaik government has had its repercussions in the party with some members shown doors. They are former ministers Anjali Behera, Sarada Nayak, Sanjeeb Sahu and, Baishnav Parida, Jyotiskar Mohapatra, Ashis Chakraborthy, Gouri Praharaj and Jin Mohanty.