• otv
Odishatv Bureau
Bangalore: The BJP government in Karnataka headed by B S Yeddyurappa on Thursday won confidence vote in the Assembly 119-0 amid a walkout by the Congress and Independents and a boycott by the JDS.

Law Minister S Suresh Kumar pressed for division of votes, as Congress members trooped out with Independents following suit. The JDS had earlier announced its decision to boycott the ten-day session.

The sudden decision to go in for the trust vote was taken by the BJP Legislature party meeting here yesterday apparently to blunt the Opposition campaign against the government and to set at rest speculation about its strength following the recent political turmoil in the state.

The recommendation by Governor H R Bhardwaj to impose President`s rule in the wake of Supreme Court striking down the disqualification of 11 BJP rebel MLAs and five Independents was rejected by the Centre.

Yeddyurappa moved a one-line resolution stating "this House expresses confidence in the ministry led by me" after the House completed obituary references to members and dignitaries who passed away during the inter-session period.

This is the fourth time Yeddyurappa has sought a trust vote after he led BJP to victory in the 2008 Assembly polls.

Yeddyurappa, whose party won 110 seats out of 224 and fell short by three numbers for a simple majority, formed the government with the support of six Independents on May 30, 2008.

He proved his majority in the first week of June 2008.

On October 11 2010, Yeddyurappa faced the floor test under a directive by Bhardwaj after 16 MLAs, including 11 BJP rebels withdrew support from his government.

Though the trust vote was voice-based, Bhardwaj rejected it on the ground that the due procedure of head count was not followed.

Other Stories