IPL 2024: MI survive whirlwind Ashutosh Sharma scare, win by nine runs

In a nail-biting IPL match, Ashutosh Sharma's rapid 61 almost clinched victory for Punjab Kings against Mumbai Indians. Despite his efforts, MI held on to win by nine runs. Suryakumar Yadav starred for MI with 78 runs, while Jasprit Bumrah and Gerald Coetzee each took three wickets.

Mumbai Indians beat Punjab Kings

Ashutosh Sharma almost single-handedly won Punjab Kings the game out of nowhere, but Mumbai Indians survived his stunning assault to win by nine runs in a thrilling match at the Maharaja Yadavindra Singh Cricket Stadium in Mullanpur on Thursday evening.

PBKS were in real trouble of getting their net run rate being hit by a massive margin when they were 14/4 and later on at 77/6 in the chase of 193. After Shashank hit a 25-ball 41, Ashutosh continued dishing out good finishing knocks with a whirlwind 25-ball 61, also his first fifty in the IPL.