Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

France will lock horns with Argentina in the final match of the FIFA World Cup 2022 on Sunday. Fans are expecting a high-octane clash between current World Champions France and Lionel Messi-led Argentina. Both the teams will take a shot at winning the title for the third time in the history of the tournament.

While Argentina had won the titles in 1978 and 1986, France had bagged the coveted trophy in 1998 and 2018.

As per reports, the champion of the mega event will get a whopping $42 million prize money while the runner-up will earn a prize purse of $30 million. 

Meanwhile, the third-placed team will take home $27 million and the fourth-placed team will earn $25 million.

Teams like Brazil, Netherlands, Portugal and England will earn $17 million each as they reached the quarter-final stage. USA, Senegal, Australia, Poland, Spain, Japan, Switzerland and South Korea will be awarded $13 million each for reaching the round of 16. Qatar, Ecuador, Wales, Iran, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, Denmark, Tunisia, Canada, Belgium, Germany, Costa Rica, Serbia, Cameroon, Ghana, Uruguay will be rewarded with $9 million each for participation in the group stages.

Meanwhile, Argentina captain Lionel Messi has announced his retirement from international football for his nation after the all-important title clash.