Odishatv Bureau

Rahul Gandhi will contest the Lok Sabha elections from the Rae Bareli seat which was vacated by his mother Sonia Gandhi while Kishori Lal Sharma has been fielded from Amethi LS constituency.

Earlier, reports were making rounds that Rahul Gandhi's sister Priyanka Gandhi Vadra would be fielded from Amethi, which Rahul lost to BJP's Smriti Irani in 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

The Congress party on Friday announced its nominees for the Rae Bareli and Amethi constituencies in Uttar Pradesh.

Meanwhile, today is the last date for filing nominations for the seats which will go to polls, in the fifth round of the seven-phase general elections, on May 20.

On the other hand, the BJP has fielded Dinesh Pratap Singh as its candidate from Rae Bareli. Singh had lost to Sonia Gandhi in the 2019 General Elections.

Rahul Gandhi currently represents Wayanad LS constituency in Kerala. He will be contesting from Wayanad this time too.