Mrunal Manmay Dash

The schedule of assembly elections in Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland has been announced by the Election Commission of India on Wednesday.

As per the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC), Rajiv Kumar, voting for assembly elections in Tripura will be held on February 16 & in Nagaland & Meghalaya on February 27. The results will be declared on March 2.

Along with the announcement of the election schedule, the model code of conduct for political parties and candidates will also come into force from Wednesday.

Announcing the dates, Rajiv Kumar said, "There will be some polling stations managed completely by PwDs & women staff.  Women will be in command in 376 PS across Nagaland, Meghalaya & Tripura."

The CEC informed that women voters participation in these states have been more than men in the past polls. "Women participants have been more than men in the previous elections in all three statesait is a happy trend to report," he said, adding that participation of women voters and their numbers on the electoral rolls are higher than men.

"There are more than 62.8 lakh electors combined in Nagaland, Meghalaya & Tripura including - 31.47 lakh female electors, 97,000  80+ voters, and 31,700 PwD voters. Over 1.76 lakh first-time voters to participate in the elections in 3 states," said the CEC.

The term of legislative assemblies of three states - Nagaland, Meghalaya & Tripura are due to expire on March 12, March 15 & March 22, 2023 respectively.