Vikash Sharma

Bijay Kumar Parida of Odisha has won the prestigious Shilp Guru Award (2018) for palm leaf engraving. 30 Shilp Guru Awards and 78 National Awards for the year 2017, 2018 and 2019 were presented to master craftspersons, 36 of whom are women at a function held at Delhi.

The Shilp Guru Awards are given to legendary master craftspersons as a recognition of excellent craftsmanship, and product excellence and the role played by them as gurus in the continuance of crafts to other trainee artisans as a vital part of traditional heritage.

As per PIB, the Awards were started in 2002, to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of the resurgence of Handicrafts in India.

Others who won the Shilp Guru Award include- Amita Sachdeva (Delhi) for stone dust painting, Noorbanu Mohamad Khatri(Gujarat) for Bandhani, Tie & Dye.

“We are the most favoured destination globally for investment and opportunity. And the craftspersons associated with handicrafts and handloom sector have played their role in this growth,” said Vice President of India, Jagdagdeep Dhankhar while addressing the Shilp Guru and National Awards organised by Ministry of Textiles here today.

Shilp Guru Award

A gold coin, Rs.2 lakh prize money, a Tamrapatra, a shawl and a certificate. 30 Shilp Gurus have been selected for the years 2017, 2018 and 2019 out of whom 24 are male and 6 are female.

The National Awards are being awarded since 1965 for outstanding craftsmanship in different craft categories. The main crafts for which the Awards have been given are Metal Engraving, Chikan Hand Embroidery, Khurja Blue Pottery, Mata Ni Pachedi Kalamkari, Bandhani, Tie & Dye, Hand Block Bagh Print, Warli Art, Stone Dust Painting, Sozni Hand Embroidery, Terracotta, Tanjore Painting, Sholapith, Kantha Hand Embroidery, Palm leaf Engraving, Brass wire inlay on wood, Wood Tarkashi, Madhubani Painting, Gold Leaf Painting , straw craft etc.

The Award consists of Rs.1 lakh prize money, a Tamrapatra, a Shawl and a certificate. 78 craftspersons have been selected for the National Awards for the year 2017, 2018 and 2019 including 02 design innovation awards where a designer and artisan collaborate to create a unique product.

Click here for the full list