Kandhamal riots: Five-year RI for three accused

Phulbani: A fast track court in Kandhamal district on Friday convicted three persons to five years rigorous imprisonment for their involvement in the August 2008 riots.

Additional District and Sessions Judge Sobhan Kumar Das also imposed a fine of Rs 2,000 on the convicts.

However, three other accused were acquitted in the case due to lack of evidence.

The three hailing from Bakingia were convicted of torching houses belonging to the people of a minority community during the ethno-communal riots in Kandhamal in the wake of the killing of senior VHP leader Swamy Laxmananda Saraswati on August 23, 2008.