Kandhamal riots case: Court sentences 13 to 5-yr imprisonment

Phulbani: A Fast Track Court here on Wednesday sentenced 13 people to five years` imprisonment for their involvement in 2008 Kandhamal riots.

Additional Sessions Judge of Fast Track court-II, Biranchi Narayan Mishra, while convicting the 13, also imposed penalty of Rs 2,000 on each.

According to prosecution, the convicts were involved in rioting, arson and torching of houses in Sartaguda village under Tikabali police station in September, 2008 after the killing of VHP leader Laxmanananda Saraswati.

In another judgement, the court acquited 12 people who had been arrested by Phiringia police on charges of unlawful assembly with deadly weapons in Sripalla village on December 30, 2007.

The area was rocked by another round of violence in December 2007.