K M Birla, Deepika to receive Priyadarshni awards

Mumbai: Noted industrialist Kumar Mangalam Birla, actor Deepika Padukone and Member of European Parliament Nirj Deva are among the achievers who would be felicitated with Global awards instituted by NGO Priyadarshni Academy next month.

The awards would be presented by Union Health Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad at the Priyadarshni Academy`s 28th anniversary function here on September 18, its chairman, Nanik Rupani said in a statement today.

Other recipients who would also be conferred the Global awards include Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) Director General Dr Samir Brahmachari, HDFC Bank Managing Director Aditya Puri, Dr Jacques Regozinski of US-based Inter-American Investment Corporation and India Coordinator for Domestic Workers Movement Dr Jeanne Devos.

Minister of state for Communication and IT Milind Deora would also be felicitated for his induction in the Union cabinet and Piyush Goyal for becoming a Rajya Sabha MP, Rupani added.

While Birla would be honoured for his outstanding contribution to globalisation of Indian industry, Dr Brahmachari would be for his services in science-led inclusive innovation, Nirj Deva for international development and Belgian national Dr Devos for her work in protecting domestic workers in India.

Aditya Puri would receive the award for his contribution as a visionary leader in banking industry while Dr Rogozinski, a Mexican national, would be feted for his contribution to economic development leveraging small and medium enterprises. Padukone will receive the Smita Patil Memorial award for `Best Actor`.