Exit polls banned from April 4 till May 10

New Delhi: The Election Commission has banned conduct of exit polls and releasing their results from April 4 till May 10 to ensure free and fair assembly polls in five states.

"The Commission hereby notifies the period between 7 AM on 4-4-2011, i.e., the first day of poll in Assam, to 5.30 PM on 10-05-2011, i.e., the last day of the poll in West Bengal, as the period during which conducting any exit poll or disseminating in any manner whatsoever, the result of any exit poll would be prohibited," the EC said.

The Commission also said that under the Representation of the People Act, 1951, displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours ending with the hours fixed for conclusion of poll in every phase.

While Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry would go for a single day polling on April 13, Assam will witness a two stage elections on April 4 and 11. Assembly polls in West Bengal would be conducted in six phases on April 18, 23, 27 and May 3, 7 and 10.