Congress on way to retain power in Meghalaya

Shillong: The Congress is on course to return to power in Meghalaya winning 12 seats and leading in at least 16 others in the 60-member Meghalaya Assembly, results for which are declared.
Congress' alliance partner in the outgoing Assembly United Democratic Party has bagged 4 seats and Hills State Peoples Democratic Party (HSPDP) 3.
HSPDP president and veteran legislator Hopingstone Lyngdoh, who has never lost Assembly elections since Meghalaya got statehood in 1972, is up against his own protg Congress candidate Adviser Pariong.
In the 2008 elections, Pariong was elected on an HSPDP ticket from Nongstoin constituency.
Lone woman legislator Ampareen Lyngdoh retained her urban 16 East Shillong seat edging out her nearest rival and former deputy chief minister B M Lanong of the UDP by over 4000 votes.
Cabinet Ministers H D R Lyngdoh and Prestone Tynsong retained their Sohiong and Pynursla seats respectively.