Chiranjeevi resigns from AP Assembly

Hyderabad: Actor-turned-politician K Chiranjeevi today resigned from the membership of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly following his election to Rajya Sabha.

Chiranjeevi, who was elected to the Assembly from temple-town Tirupati in 2009, met Assembly Speaker Nadendla Manohar and handed over his resignation.

Chiranjeevi will take oath as Rajya Sabha member on April 3. With Chiranjeevi`s resignation, the number of vacancies in the 294-member AP Assembly increases to 18.

It may be recalled that the Speaker early this month disqualified 16 ruling Congress MLAs and accepted the resignation of one rebel Praja Rajyam Party MLA for violating their respective parties and voting against the government on the no-confidence motion.