AIADMK retains Tiruchirappalli West seat

Tiruchirappalli: The ruling AIADMK today retained the Tiruchirappalli West assembly seat when its nominee M Paramjothi defeated his nearest DMK rival K N Nehru by over 14,000 votes.

The bypoll, held on Oct 13, was necessitated by the death of AIADMK minister Mariam Pitchai in a road mishap even before he took oath as a member of the state assembly.