We Report, You Decide

12 convicted in Kandhamal riot case

Phulbani: Two separate fast track courts here on Monday sentenced 12 people to three to four years’ rigorous imprisonment and penalty after convicting them in cases of house burning during the Kandhamal riot in 2008.
While disposing a case relating to house burning of minorities at Lengisuga village under Baliguda police station area during the riot, the fast track court judge C R Das pronounced four years RI and Rs 3,000 penalty to 10 persons of the same village and acquitted four others due to lack of proper evidence.
Similarly, the fast track court-I judge S K Das pronounced three years RI and Rs 3,000 penalty to two persons after finding them guilty in setting fire on the houses of minorities at Ghodabisa village under G Udaygiri police station area.
Both the house burning cases were reported on August 27, 2008, barely four days after killing of the VHP leader Swami Laxamananda Saraswati. Above 4,000 houses were burnt and 38 people killed in the Kandhamal riot in the aftermath of Saraswati’s killing.
You might also like

Comments are closed.