UDF, LDF in neck and neck race in Kerala

New Delhi: Congress-led UDF and CPI(M)-led LDF appeared to be locked in a neck and neck race in Kerala Assembly elections for which early trends were available.

The UDF and LDF were leading in around 15 each seats as the counting for the Assembly polls this morning.

UDF candidate M K M Premnath was leading by over 1,000 votes in Vatakara segment as counting of votes began for the assembly elections held on April 13.

At Sulthanbattery in Wayanad district, Congress` C Balakrishnan was leading by 348 votes over his nearest rival CPI-M`s E A Sankaran.

In Kozhikode north, CPI-M candidate A Pradeepkumar was leading P V Gangadharan (Cong) by 68 votes. In Nadapuram CPI`s E K Vijayan was leading by 820 votes.

Chief Minister and CPI-M veteran V S Achuthanandan was leading in Malampuzha constituency.

The constituencies where the UDF candidates are maintaining lead include Kalpetta, Vatakara, Varkala, Kazhakoottam, Thodupuzha and Manjeri.

The LDF candidates are leading in Dharmadam, Nadapuram and Kozhikode North.

In Tamil Nadu, ruling DMK-led front was leading in one seat for which early trend was available.

Postal ballots were opened first and EVMs some time later at the 91 counting centres across the state.