Trinamool wins 13 out of 17 Zilla parishads in WB

Kolkata: Maintaining its wining spree, the ruling Trinamool Congress swept the three-tier panchayat polls in West Bengal capturing 13 out of 17 Zilla Parishads, while the Congress put up a poor show with just one in Murshidabad.
TMC's clean sweep in the zilla parishads in 11 of 12 south Bengal districts and two out of five north Bengal districts, demonstrated that the two-and-a-half-years of incumbency and controversies, including the Saradha chit fund scam, by and large, failed to sway the rural people's trust on the Mamata Banerjee government.
TMC not only did well in south Bengal, but also breached the barrier in north Bengal where it won Cooch Behar and South Dinajpur.
The party won the zilla parishads in Howrah, Hooghly, North 24 Parganas, South 24 Parganas, Burdwan, Birbhum, Nadia, Coochbehar and South Dinajpur districts.
The ruling party registered a huge victory in the three Maoist strongholds in Bankura, Purulia and West Midnapore districts.
In adjoining East Midnapore district, the TMC registered a major win except at Nandigram, the cradle of Banerjee's anti-land acquisition campaign, where the party had to struggle with former Trinamool supporters, who fought as Independents.
In Nandigram block I and block II, out of 17 gram panchayat seats, official Trinamool candidates won 13 seats, while the independents bagged three seats and Left one.