RS farewell to seven retiring members

New Delhi: Rajya Sabha today bid farewell to seven members, three of them Nominated, who retire on completion of their six-year term early next year.

Chairman Hamid Ansari said Karan Singh, Janardhan Dwivedi and Parvez Hashmi (Cong) retire on January 27, 2012, while Shobhana Bhartia, Shyam Benegal and Kapila Vatsyayan (all Nominated) retire on February 15, 2012. O T Lepcha (Sikkim Democratic Front) retires on February 23, 2012.

"Some of these members, I am sure, will be re-elected and re-nominated," Ansari said, adding the House would "certainly miss" those who do not come back. He appreciated contributions made by the retiring members to the Parliamentary democracy and society at large and wished them good health and long fruitful years of service to the nation.