Raghuvar Das to be first non-tribal CM of Jharkhand

Ranchi: Raghuvar Das, national vice-president of BJP will be the first non-tribal Chief Minister of Jharkhand after he was elected the leader of BJPLP today.

BJP observer J P Nadda said after the legislature party meeting that Das’ name was proposed by Sarayu Roy, another front-runner for the post and C P Singh and supported by all the party MLAs.

Das is also a former deputy chief minister of the state.

Former chief minister Arjun Munda said Das will stake claim to form the BJP-Ajsu party government.

BJP-Ajsu alliance had won absolute majority in the recent assembly polls bagging 42 out of the total 81 seats.