Prabhu, Chowdary file papers for RS from Andhra

Hyderabad: Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu and Minister of State for Science and Technology Y.S. Chowdary on Tuesday filed their nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha from Andhra Pradesh.

Former state minister T.G. Venkatesh and YSR Congress Party leader P. Vijaya Sai Reddy also filed their nominations.

Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu’s son and Telugu Desam Party general secretary Nara Lokesh Naidu accompanied Prabhu.

Speaking to the media after filing his papers, Prabhu vowed to work for the faster development of Andhra Pradesh. “The state is progressing fast under the leadership of Chandrababu Naidu. I will strive to contribute my bit.”

In Telangana, former government adviser D. Srinivas and former minister Captain Lakshmikantha Rao filed their nominations as ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi candidates for the two seats.

State finance minister E. Rajender said: “The victory of our candidates is a formality as no other party had the required 40 MLAs in the assembly.”