Polling begins on dull note in Uttarakhand

Dehra Dun: Polling for the assembly elections in Uttarakhand to elect 70 legislators began a dull note this morning despite a clear sky.

Till 1000 hours, only 10 per cent polling was recorded, said state chief electorate officer [CEO] Radha Raturi.

However, the polling was peaceful, she said. In most of the polling booths, people began queuing up as the day progressed, officials said.

Over 63 lakh voters are expected to exercise their franchise in the elections where the ruling BJP is locked in a close fight against Congress.

The elections will also decide the fate of top state leaders including Chief Minister B C Khanduri from Kotdwar, former chief minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank from Doiwala, the leader of opposition Harak Singh Rawat from Rudraprayag and PCC chief Yashpal Arya from Baajpur seats.

The polling which began at 0800 hrs would end at 1700 hrs in the evening.

A total of 788 candidates are trying their luck with main contenders BJP and Congress contesting all the 70 seats.