PM arrives in Myanmar to attend ASEAN, East Asia summits

Nay Pyi Taw: Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrived here in the Myanmarese capital today to attend the ASEAN and the East Asia summits on the first leg of his three- nation tour that will also take him to Australia and Fiji.

Modi arrived here by a special Air India plane, starting his 10-day tour during which he will also attend the G-20 meet in Brisbane, Australia.

Asserting that the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is at the core of India’s ‘Act East’ policy, the Prime Minister said before leaving for Myanmar that he was looking forward to discussing with ASEAN leaders how to take “our relationship to a new level, which will supplement our deepening bilateral ties with each member”.

“ASEAN is at the core of our Act East Policy and at the centre of our dream of an Asian century, characterised by cooperation and integration,” Modi said.

The Prime Minister will meet over 40 leaders from countries in Asia, Africa, Europe, North America, South America and Pacific Region during the India-ASEAN and East Asia summits on November 12-13 in Myanmar’s capital Nay Pyi Taw, the G 20 Summit in Brisbane and the visit to Fiji Islands.

Noting that no other region in the world embodies so much dynamism or faces so many challenges as the region spanning the Indian Ocean, continental Asia and Pacific Ocean, he said the East Asia Summit has the potential to shape this region and the world’s future.

“At the East Asia Summit, I look forward to discussing with ASEAN and seven global leaders how we can strengthen regional institutions, international norms and regional cooperation in pursuit of peace, stability and prosperity,” the Prime Minister said in the statement.

On the sidelines of the international summits in Myanmar, Modi is slated to meet Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev, South Korean President Park Geun-hye and Singapore President Tony Tan, besides the host President Thein Sein.

The ASEAN members are Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, Philippines and Vietnam, while the EAS members 10 ASEAN nations and Australia, China, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, Russia and the US.

At the G-20 Summit, the Prime Minister said, highlighting the importance of international cooperation against black money would be a key issue.